top of page
Search
  • Corey Green

What's in my bag?

Updated: Mar 19, 2021

What's in my backpack?


Double click on the underlined items for a link to the product.


*I am not affiliated with any of these brands*

Backpack- Osprey Atmos AG EX 65L. I typically don't carry the brain (top part) of the pack unless its an extra long trip and I need the space


Stove- Cheap pocket rocket off Amazon


Fuel- MSR fuel can. Size varies based on trip length. I usually pack 3.9 oz for shorter trips and 8 oz for anything over 3-4 days.


Pot- Cheap one off Amazon with a green handle


Utensil- Cheap one off Amazon


Sponge- I cut up a 1”x1” piece of sponge to wash my backpacking pot out after meals. I don't use soap, but if you do make sure its biodegradable so as to not harm the waterways.


Sleeping Pad- Therm A Rest Neo Air XLite


Pillow- Currently broken. Will be ordering a new one.


Sleeping bag- I personally own a REI synthetic 20 degree bag, but have used the Feathered Friends Hummingbird 20 provided by work for three years. Great bag


Tent- I personally own a cheap 2 person North Face tent but at work I have used the Big Agnes Copper Spur and Fly Creek. I personally prefer the Copper Spur for the side entrance, but both are great.


Notebook- Rite in the Rain notebook


Pen- I usually pack a few and have one in my first aid kit for work


Book- I still carry paperback books instead of a kindle


Headlamp- Petzl Actik


First Aid Kit- Big first aid kit for work. I store all the contents in a Patagonia Black Hole cube. Contents will be in a different article.


Earbuds- Wired earbuds (less things to charge)


Eye Mask- I like sleeping in and it can get sunny, early. Also the moon can be pretty bright.


Trekking Poles- Black Diamond Trail Back


Map- Always carry a paper map!


Camera- make sure it's charged.


Trash Bag- I use this for cleaning up other people's trash, but a trash bag can also be used for rain protection.


InReach- work provided. I prefer the Explorer+ over the mini as the ability to type on the Explorer+ is worth the extra weight to me.


Bear Canister- I own the BV500. Work provided me with the Wild Ideas bear canister which is great and lightweight but a lot more money. Also the Wild Ideas bear canister is sharp around the edges and can slowly chafe at your backpack.


Quarters- If you use the Wild Ideas Bear Canister you need something to open it with. I find quarters work best.


Toothbrush and Paste- A travel sized toothbrush and paste work great.


Trowel- GSI Outdoors Cathole Sanitation Trowel


Toilet Paper- I guess how much I will use each day and fold it into a sandwich bag.


Sandwich Bag- Designated for dirty toilet paper


Hand Sanitizer-mini bottle


Rain Jacket-


Long Johns- 32 degree heat


Socks- I typically carry two to three pears of socks. I alternate between Injinji socks and Darn Tough.


Ball Cap- Patagonia Duckbill


Beanie- I have a generic beanie which I found and has no brand on it.


Sandals- Bedrock


Face Mask


Pants- Patagonia Quandary


Shoes- I currently wear the Salomon XA Pro 3D V8. I will likely switch this year. I love my Hoka Challengers but they wouldn't hold up on rougher trails.


Shirt- Quechua t-shirt


Sun Shirt- Outdoor Research Astroman Sun Hoodie



Underwear- Exofficio Give-N-Go 2.0


Water purifier- Platypus GravityWorks Filter System Bottle Kit - 2 Liter


SmartWater Bottle x2 1 Liter- I typically carry 1L of water with me at a time, but I like having two bottles as a backup or for at camp.


Iodine and neutralizer- Backup incase something happens to my water filter


Credit Card- Can be used to buy something if you leave the trail and used to remove a bee stinger.


Cell Phone









Recent Posts

See All

Camera Gear

Bringing camera gear on a backpacking trip is tricky. I want my camera to be lightweight, but still capture impressive images. Here's a list of what's in my bag and how I keep everything safe from the

Backpacking Food

For any backpacking trip I create a menu for myself and write down what I will have for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks for each date. Keep in mind that on the first day of your trip you could ha

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page